For a teenager attempting to get your first driver’s license in Georgia, there are some requirements set by the Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act that need to be met.
This act says you must finish Georgia’s graduated driver’s license (GDL) program. One portion of the GDL is completing behind-the-wheel practice with a driving instructor or with a licensed person over 21 years old.
The requirements set for behind-the-wheel practice were put into place to give new drivers the experience and know-how to pass their driver’s test at the DDS.
Here, you’ll learn more about what kind of driving practice needs to be done on your way to getting your very own driver’s license.
For those under the age of 18, you must finish a minimum of 40 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel practice once you get your learner’s permit.
If you wish to get a provisional or intermediate driver’s license when you are under 17, you will also need to finish driver’s education, which will have behind-the-wheel built into the course.
The GDL program can be started once you turn 15 and you apply for your learner’s permit along with signing up for a driver’s education course.
To learn more, please visit the following pages:
- Georgia Driving Permits.
- Georgia Driver’s Education.
Behind-the-wheel driver training is a must for those under the age of 17 who wish to acquire a provisional license.
To meet the requirements, you first need to get a learner’s permit. Next, you are allowed to enroll in a driver’s education course. This course will consist of a minimum of 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of in-car driving practice with a licensed driving instructor.
Usually, you will start the behind-the-wheel portion once the classroom instruction portion has been completed.
To find an approved driving school near you, check out the Georgia DMV’s list of recognized driving schools.
NOTE: The behind-the-wheel portion of a driver’s education course can also be met by going through the Parental Supervised on the Road Program. Check out the 40-Hour Parent/Teen Driving Guide to learn more.
If you have any questions, feel free to ask the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission.
When you are going through the GDL program with your learner’s permit, you are only allowed to drive while under the supervision of someone who is licensed and over the age of 21.
In order to move on from your learner’s permit to an intermediate driver’s license, it’s required that you finish a minimum of 40 hours of in-car driving while supervised, with 6 of those hours being at night.
The signature of your parent or legal guardian will be required on the application to confirm you have finished those hours.
You will be able to take your road test and start applying for a provisional license after you have:
- Turned 16 years old. (It is 17 years old for those who did not take driver’s education)
- Held a learner’s permit in good standing for a minimum of 12 months with no serious traffic violations.
- Finished all of the hours required for behind-the-wheel practice.
Scheduling your road test is as easy as calling your local Georgia DDS. You may also check out the Georgia DDS website to schedule an appointment and find phone numbers.
To learn more, please check out the Applying for a New GA Driver’s License page.