Driver’s Ed in Georgia has two parts: a classroom or online class along with behind-the-wheel practice. You must complete driver’s education if you are trying to obtain your provisional (Class D) license after turning 16.
For those who choose not to complete driver’s education, you must wait until you are 17 to receive your GA provisional license.
Joshua’s Law and Driver’s Ed
Joshua’s Law was made to make sure that teen drivers became more responsible and aware drivers. The law states that teens who are 16 years old must finish:
- A state-recognized driver’s education program.
- 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice, with 6 of those hours being at night.
- For those who are 17 or older, Joshua’s Law does not apply. However, the 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice must still be finished.
To enroll in Georgia driver’s education, the first step will be to get a learner’s permit. This requires you:
- Be age 15 or older.
- Pass a written exam.
To learn more about applying, please visit the GA Driver Permits page.
After earning your learner’s permit, you are able to sign up for a Georgia driver’s education course that has been authorized by the Georgia Department of Driver Services.
You may also start your behind-the-wheel practice as long as you are with a 21 year old driver with a license.
GA driver’s education contains two parts: a theory/driving instruction portion and a behind-the-wheel practice portion.
You are required to finish:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction, which can either be done in an actual classroom or online.
- 6 hours of actual driving practice with a driving instructor OR the 40-Hour Parent and Teen Driver Program.
The course will go over the following topics:
- Car safety.
- Hazard precautionary measures.
- The traffic laws in Georgia.
The GA DDS has a search for recognized driving schools on their website.
The fees for the course will vary depending on the exact location of your driver’s education program. Contact your driving school to learn more about the expenses and to find out if you are eligible for tax credits towards the course.
If your driver’s education course is done through a high school or online, tax credits will not be available.
After finishing all of the driver’s education requirements with a learner’s permit, you may begin applying for an intermediate driver’s license. You must meet the following requirements:
To learn more about applying for a GA provisional license along with what documents will be required, check out the Applying for a New Teen License in Georgia page.