For teenagers first applying for a FL driver’s license, a driver’s training course is not required, but you must finish all of your supervised behind-the-wheel hours. The Florida DHSMV has made this a requirement as part of their Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program.
These behind-the-wheel hours will allow you to learn safe driving habits and will get your ready for your road test. These supervised hours are vital for gaining experience as a driver as well as gaining confidence while driving.
Though there are no requirements for driver’s training in the state of Florida, you may find it a good idea to take some lessons with a licensed driving instructor. Click here to find approved driving programs near you.
For those under the age of 18, you must complete the requirements set in the FL DHSMV GDL.
The initial steps are to finish a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) class and apply for a learner’s permit.
After getting a learner’s permit, you have 50 hours of supervised driving hours that must be done with a licensed adult, and 10 of those hours must be at night.
FL Supervised Driving Practice
A Florida learner’s permit grants you the following:
- The ability to drive with a licensed adult aged 21 or older.
- You may only drive under supervision up until 10 p.m. in the initial three months.
Prior to going from a learner’s permit to a provisional license, you have to finish your 50 hours of required practice with your 10 night hours.
Once this requirement has been satisfied, you should have gained sufficient experience and confidence behind the wheel, and you should be ready for your DMV road test. It’s important that you practice your driving techniques that may come up on your road test. You can consult adults or any professional driving organization to find out what may come up on the road test.